NewsTechnology

After new update on WhatsApp, Users can still read their deleted messages

WhatsApp, one of the most popular and widely used messaging apps just came up with a new update. The update is all about a new feature that’s called, “Delete for Everyone” that can be used by all WhatsApp users. This feature allows you to recall or delete a message that was sent to your friend by mistake.

But do deleted messages that you once sent really disappear from the phone? A new report claims that WhatsApp messages that are deleted are actually still on the device and can be easily accessed. A new report surfacing the web claims that you can read the deleted WhatsApp messages as it is stored in the notification log of the device and can be easily accessed.

Here’s how to read deleted WhatsApp messages




According to the report, WhatsApp messages can be sent via a third-party app called Notification History which can be downloaded via Google Play. After downloading the app, the user will have to search the message in the Android notification log. Those users who are using third-party launchers like Nova Launcher, it’s even easier.

The notification log can be accessed without the need of an additional app. Long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. Though, there are some limitations to it.

ImageCredits:TheTechNews

Now Let’s read about the Limitations for Notification History App:

Notification History app works only on those devices which are running on Android 7.0 Nougat. It is also noteworthy that you will only be able to retrieve the deleted text messages and not the media files — be it images, videos or any other sort of media file.

So, going by the reports, iOS WhatsApp users will not be able to read deleted WhatsApp messages. There are also other ways that you can try if you are a user of third-party launchers like Nova Launcher.




How to use “Delete for Everyone Feature”

Keep in mind that to delete a certain message, you need to get it done within 7 minutes from the time the message is sent. Post 7 minutes, you may not be able to delete the message. You should first send a message to any of your contacts, then tap, hold and select the message, and click on the delete bin icon. Earlier, on clicking the bin option, the selected message would automatically get deleted.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close